Baseball: Priority Changes

University of Cincinnati Medical Center flying a flag in honor of two successful kidney transplants on 3/17 - including my wife's donation
University of Cincinnati Medical Center flying a flag in honor of two successful kidney transplants on 3/17 – including my wife’s donation

I almost feel bad. I’ve stepped away from writing about Mike Trout, Bryce Harper, and elbow injuries for quite a while now. It just hasn’t seemed all that important. I’ve neglected to maintain my blog. I almost feel shame…but I don’t and I never will.

I don’t have millions of pageviews, annoying pop-up advertisements, or additional writers on my blog, so when real life interferes with blogging, there are extended times away like this, and absolutely no content. This absence is certainly something that I am proud of, though.

On Monday, my wife donated a kidney to a stranger. It was sort of a trade for another kidney because our friend, who was originally supposed to receive her kidney prior to some antibody issues, received a kidney from another woman. Two donors. Two recipients. Hundreds of family and friends impacted by the heroism of these selfless acts are now able to celebrate the potential long-term health and improvement in quality of life for the recipients.

I have no words to describe how proud I am of my wife. As she returns to living a normal life over the next several weeks, you’ll see a few more posts and a return to normal on the blog. As more posts come, it likely means that she is doing very well, so that’s a good thing.

For now, I am going to just enjoy the fact that she is here with me, knowing that my wife is a hero, and reflecting on how little  baseball can mean to me in the grand scheme of life. And THAT is a bold statement coming from this blogger.

What do you think?

